NASA GreenGov Awards Recipients 

Previous Winners

NASA Honored with 2015 GreenGov Presidential Award

The GreenGov Presidential Awards celebrate extraordinary achievement in the pursuit of President Obama's Federal Sustainability goals. They honor Federal civilian and military personnel, agency teams, agency projects, facilities, and programs that exemplify President Obama's charge to lead by example. On November 23, the White House announced eight awards in seven different categories to individuals and teams. These honorees exemplify our Federal workforce's commitment to meeting the President's directive to create a clean energy economy that will increase our Nation's prosperity, promote energy security, protect the interests of taxpayers, combat climate change, and safeguard the health of our environment.

Award Category: Green Innovation Award
Award Citation: The Kennedy Space Center's Chemistry Team set out to develop precision cleaning methods with no environmental liability while maintaining equal performance and cost parity. The team developed two novel solvent-free precision cleaning methods, which will increase workplace safety, replace solvents with high global warming potential, and reduce overall greenhouse gas emissions for the Kennedy Space Center without compromising performance. Additionally, the NASA Chemistry Team is working to apply their solvent-free cleaning methods on a much larger scale. Team members include:

  • Paul Hintze, Ph.D./UB-R3
  • Kathleen Loftin, Ph.D./NE-L3
  • Janelle Coutts, Ph.D./Engineering Services Contract-Craig Technologies
  • Robert Devor, Ph.D./Engineering Services Contract-Vencore
  • Heather Grandelli, Ph.D./Virginia Tech (NASA Post-Doctoral Fellow)
  • Philip Maloney, Ph.D./University of Central Florida (NASA Post-Doctoral Fellow)
For information on all award winners, go to:
Obama Administration Announces 2015 GreenGov Award Winners